Some Recent Sweet Projects

Life has been so busy lately between work, wedding planning, and corgi snuggling that I’ve been neglecting my poor blog. While I realize that this is probably a good thing for everyone’s waistline, I do miss it, so I have a few posts to share with you all over the next week or so. I have a few photos of some simple things I’ve made lately, so let’s start by sharing those 🙂

I made these cupcakes as a little “Happy Monday!” treat for the office.  I’ll tell you a secret, if you add the juice and the zest of a lemon to a normal yellow cake mix, it will help cut the sweetness a bit and make them extra special.  I baked these in cute turquoise polka dot papers, and topped them with a swirl of pink swiss meringue buttercream and a shower of rainbow confetti sprinkles.  In my mind, this is everything a cupcake should be: sweet, pink, and happy. I wish I could have these on hand at all times!

These are vanilla and mocha meringue cookies. I made these because I was itching to make a sweet treat, but had hardly any ingredients in the house.  These were easy, and satisfied my need to put sprinkles on something.

Meringue Cookies

  • 2 egg whites
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • for mocha: 1 Tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder, and 1 teaspoon instant espresso powder.

Whip the egg whites until they reach soft peaks. Gradually add sugar and salt and continue beating to stiff peaks. Add the vanilla, and if you’re making the mocha version, the cocoa powder and espresso powder. Pipe onto parchment lined baking sheets and top with sprinkles if you like. Bake for 2 hours at 200F.

Cookie Dough Truffles

Sorry for the grainy/awful photos of these, but what they lack in beauty, they more than make up for with deliciousness. They’re egg-free (so you don’t die) cookie dough dipped in melted chocolate. I don’t know about you, but I don’t know what else I could really ask for in life. They’re from Love and Olive Oil, who just put out a cookbook of cookie dough recipes. I saw this posted on her website, but I think I may need to invest in this book soon 🙂

Recipe on her site: HERE , also on Bakerella 

YUM!

ready for dipping!

I used melted semi-sweet chocolate chips, not candy coating, so I kept mine in the fridge so they wouldn’t melt.

They were SO GOOD! If cookie dough is your thing, I highly recommend these so you can indulge without the worry of food poisoning.

Those were some of the random things I’ve been making lately, full posts coming later in the week on slightly bigger projects 🙂

Jillian Cupcake

Comments

  1. dddb,
    yeah! you’re back!
    i’ve missed your blog!
    see you wed!!!!!!!!
    ilym,mob

Leave a Reply

