Sticky Rice with Mango, and an experiment

Life has been extremely busy these days. On the evenings we are home early enough to eat dinner, I just haven’t been able to gather the energy to cook, so we do the next best thing and order Thai.  Oh, delicious tofu panang curry and spicy pad kee mao, you have saved us from skipped dinners many times. Last time, I added a new dish to our order, the default dessert on every Thai take out menu: Sticky Rice with Mango.

For such a literal sounding name, it leaves out the most fabulous part of this dish, the sweet, creamy coconut sauce. Sticky sweet coconut rice was topped with juicy ripe mango slices, and I kicked myself for ignoring this bland sounding dessert for so long.  Tonight, I tried to recreate this dish in my own kitchen.  I’ve been putting off blogging for a long time because I haven’t had time to properly photograph and edit my work. In the spirit of not letting perfect be the enemy of good, this post (and possibly future posts) only uses shots from my iPhone.

 

Sticky Coconut Rice with Mango

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup short grain sticky rice (I used Calrose rice)
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 3 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 juicy ripe mango

To begin, wash and then soak your rice for about an hour. To wash, put the rice in a bowl and fill it with water. Rub the rice with your hands until the water is cloudy, then change the water and repeat. I usually do that 3 times. Then let the rice soak in fresh water for about an hour. Drain, then put the soaked rice in your rice cooker. Open the can of coconut milk, spoon the solid coconut cream into a small saucepan, and pour the liquid into the rice cooker. Add more water if needed, and cook the rice.

This little rice cooker is the best $15 I ever spent.

When the rice is done, take the pan with the coconut cream, and add 3 tablespoons of brown sugar.

Cook it on low until the cream melts and all the sugar dissolves.

Slice your mango.

You can scoop out the rounds of mango with a spoon, like you would an avocado.  Peel the strange center chunk with the pit, and give it to the first cute hound that crosses your path.

Pour half of the sweet sauce into the cooked rice, stir and let sit for a few minutes. The rice will soak it all up. Then spoon a mound of coconut rice into a bowl, top with mango slices, and pour more sauce over the top.

Enjoy!  Now, if only I could master the panang curry or pad kee mao. This dessert is perfect after a spicy meal.

I hope you liked my experiment with blogging with iPhone photos! It’s something I might try more often, since I miss blogging so badly.

See you soon!

Comments

  1. It was absolutely delicious!

  2. Martha Fling says:

    Proof of the pudding…Penny the puppy laps it up! Looks yummy…but is that a Hello Kitty rice cooker?

  3. dddb,
    welcome back! i’ve missed your blogs!
    this looks delicious.
    love the nails, the towel, and the hound.
    ilym,mob

  4. Love it! Glad to see you posting again!

Leave a Reply

