Happy Halloween! Spooky Cute Cupcakes

Happy Halloween Everyone!!! It’s been a long time since I’ve posted, but I just got a new, super-awesome job, and it’s taking some time for me to adjust to my new schedule. I have been doing some baking, and I’ve got a few photos, but it’s hard to find time to edit and post them. I’m sure I’ll get used  to my new hours and routine soon, and then I can get back to a more regular posting schedule 🙂

 

I made these cupcakes to share with my new co-workers at a weekly department meeting. Nothing makes a meeting better than cupcakes!  One of my co-workers is dairy-free, so I made the ghosts safe for her to eat, but yummy enough for everyone to love.

Dairy Free Ghosts

I used Duncan Hines Devil’s Food cake mix for all the cupcakes, because the mix is dairy free (and also egg free).  So adding the water, oil and egg still made safe cakes.  for the frosting, I made Seven Minute Frosting .  Usually, you beat the mixture with electric beaters over a double boiler, but I don’t have electric beaters any more.   As an alternative, it’s ok to cook the whole mixture in a double boiler until it reaches 165F then pour the whole thing into a Kitchen Aid and beat it.  Pipe a big tall swirl onto each cupcake, and then use black confetti sprinkles to make a little face.

Spooky Sweet Grave Cupcakes

For these cupcakes, I used the same cake mix and then frosted with Chocolate Buttercream.  Crush some chocolate cookies to make “dirt” and roll each cupcake in the cookie crumbs.  I used Milano cookies for the tombstones and wrote RIP in melted chocolate. Add a mellowcreme pumpkin and some bone sprinkles and you’re all done!

 

Happy Halloween!!!

 

Comments

  1. These are precious, Jilian! Happy Halloween to you! Glad to see you posting again! See you soon!

  2. ddd,
    you got the great job, but your co-workers got a great new job perk. CUPCAKES!!!
    thank you so much for my red velvet traditional birthday dessert with proper frosting!
    i know how tired you are with your new schedule, and it really meant a lot to me that you went to all that effort to make my birthday perfect!
    ilym,mom

Leave a Reply

