Cheddar Cheese Bread

This bread is a glorious combination of basic white sandwich bread, sharp cheddar cheese, and cayenne pepper. It disappeared at lightening speed even though every time I brought it out, Penny would run over to the kitchen and give me the biggest brown sad-eyes in the world.

Why don’t you ever share?

Please, stop the guilt! Dogs really love cheese.

Anyway, this bread has the most fantastic sharp cheese flavor balanced with a little spicy kick from the cayenne. Want the secret ingredient to almost all cheese recipes? Add a teaspoon or so of mustard. Dijon is preferred, but I used yellow in this and it was still amazing. Almost like adding coffee to chocolate, mustard has a way of really enhancing the cheese flavor in a dish.

Everything was great with this bread until I realized something was missing. Sometimes I can get a little carried away…

That’s more like it! Melted cheese on top of spicy cheddar cheese bread. If you want to be like me and guild the lily on this one, I recommend topping a slice with more cheddar cheese (or another full flavored cheese like Gruyere – skip the american this time) and placing in under the broiler for a few moments.

Delicious.

Please, when you bake cheddar cheese bread of your own, you must use sharp or extra sharp cheese. I chose a orange sharp cheese because I like the look of the orange bread, if you don’t care about that, a white cheddar would work just as well. Whatever you do, don’t use mild cheddar! It has no flavor and the bread won’t be nearly as good. Don’t be afraid of sharp cheese!

Next time, and there will be a next time, I plan on making this into dinner rolls and adding sliced jalapenos. There could also be bacon, but I make no promises. Someone needs to throw a dinner party that I can bring these to!

Out of respect to the author, I will not be posting any of the recipes unless I make significant changes to them. This recipe comes from The Bread Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum and is available at bookstores everywhere or possibly in your local library.

Comments

  1. I’m down for the cheese bread…BUT DID YOU GET A DOG???

  2. ddd,
    i would cave and give penny a little nibble. she has had a tough time being left at a shelter, and those eyes! this is a great way for you to start dealing with my child (dog) raising advice in advance. what you do is…..thank me for my concern and my suggestion, tell me that you will discuss it with the mr.,then do whatever you please. everyone stays happy.
    ilym,mom

Leave a Reply

