Zucchini Bread with Walnuts

Just a quick post today to share some zucchini bread I made a few weeks ago. I keep putting off posting it because I wasn’t really impressed by it, plus it’s not the world’s most photogenic cake. Also, I’ve been very busy this week with something I will be announcing here on Monday, so be sure to come back for that 😀

Zucchini bread is in the same family as carrot bread  and banana bread, in that it’s dangerously close to being a cake. This mildly sweet cake/bread is oil based (no butter) and leavened with baking powder, not yeast. It’s quick to throw together and have in the freezer for breakfast later in the week. Something handy I learned from this, is that when you bake with walnuts, toasting them lightly in a dry skillet before adding them to the batter will stop them from turning that horribly unappetizing blue color when baked. Be careful when toasting them and never walk away from the pan. They go from toasted to burned in about five seconds.

 

That’s all for today, be sure to check back on Monday for my big announcement 🙂

 

Out of respect to the author, I will not be posting any of the recipes unless I make significant changes to them. This recipe comes from The Bread Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum and is available at bookstores everywhere or possibly in your local library.

 

Comments

  1. ddd, thanks for the walnut tip, i didn”t know that. I do know what’s coming on monday. i can’t wait to see our post about it!!!!!! ilym,

Leave a Reply

