Potato Bread

Potato bread is a delicious variation on Basic White Sandwich Bread that is lower in fat but still very tender. Adding mashed potato to bread dough helps the bread retain more moisture, so less fat is needed to create a soft loaf.  The potato does not add much flavor to the bread, so it will taste similar to the white bread, but it’s softer.

This recipe calls for dry milk and also the water used to boil the potato. However, it says that you can substitute the volume of potato water with scalded milk if you do not have dry milk.  Apparently, grocery stores near me do not sell dry milk. When you ask for help finding a product and all you get is a blank stare followed by “what’s that?” it’s not  a good sign. So, while I continue my search, I’ve elected to use scalded and cooled milk. Now, why must the milk be scalded (brought to almost boiling) if I’m just going to cool it before adding it to the dough? Excellent question. I didn’t know myself until this recipe. Apparently, there is an enzyme in milk that will make your dough sticky. By heating the milk, the enzyme is destroyed and it does not interfere with the texture of the dough.

This soft bread is absolutely perfect for grilled cheese sandwiches. Slice two thin slices of bread and spread one side of each with soft butter. Sandwich two slices of American cheese with a few slices of ripe tomato between the un-buttered sides. Gently fry the sandwich in a pan until both sides are crisp and the cheese inside is completely melted.

I like to put ripe tomato slices in my grilled cheese sandwiches because the sweetness provides a nice contrast to the salty cheese. Potato bread is perfect to contain but not over power the flavors of tomato and cheese. The Bread Bible is teaching me so much with every loaf, I hope some of the tips I’m sharing will help you make better bread too!

Out of respect to the author, I will not be posting any of the recipes unless I make significant changes to them. This recipe comes from The Bread Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum and is available at bookstores everywhere or possibly in your local library.

Leave a Reply

