Blueberry Corn Muffins

This is the variation suggestion on the Corn Muffins I wrote about a few days ago. I would have never thought to put blueberries in with the corn muffin batter, but they are delicious! The Mr. liked these even better than the plain blueberry muffins.  The corn muffin base has only 3 tablespoons of sugar while the blueberry muffin base has half a cup of sugar, so the natural sweetness of the berry is more pronounced in the corn muffin. The texture of the cornmeal gives a pleasant contrast to the soft berries. Once again, I don’t think I’ve found either go-to blueberry muffin recipe or the perfect cornbread yet, but these are a beautiful combination of two of my favorite flavors. If you can’t get to a copy of the book, I would recommend finding a time this summer while blueberries are still ripe, to throw a handful of them into some simple cornbread batter and bake them as muffins. It’s different but I think you will be very pleasantly surprised.

 

Out of respect to the author, I will not be posting any of the recipes unless I make significant changes to them. This recipe comes from The Bread Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum and is available at bookstores everywhere or possibly in your local library.

Comments

  1. these look delicious! these would be a staple in my house. i’ll have to try them!

Leave a Reply

