Corn Muffins

When I was growing up in Hawaii, my mom would bring me to California every few summers to visit my Grandmother. Mom would hope that the timing of our trip would coincide with the seasons in such a way that she could have a slice of her favorite fresh peach pie from Marie Callender’s. There are no Marie Callender’s in Hawaii, so if she was going to have that pie she only had one chance every few years.  These monumental occasions went right over my six year old head, but what I remember most fondly from Marie’s was the huge slab of cornbread that seemed to accompany every entrée.  It was my favorite part, and to this day I subconsciously associate cornbread with those special family visits.

These corn muffins come together very quickly with cornmeal, flour, sour cream, melted butter and a touch of sugar. They present a very modest six muffins per batch, the perfect amount  to have with dinner then split open in the morning to toast and anoint with butter.

They’re very good. Light with a faint buttery flavor, but I think adding some fresh kernels of corn would give it a more interesting texture and a few extra pops of sweet corn flavor. Instead of fresh corn, Rose suggested a variation with an unexpected mix-in that I had never associated with corn muffins, but ended up being delicious. I’ll share that in a few days.

Out of respect to the author, I will not be posting any of the recipes unless I make significant changes to them. This recipe comes from The Bread Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum and is available at bookstores everywhere or possibly in your local library.

Comments

  1. ddd,
    it’s june. peaches are almost here! maybe i can plan a visit to you and we’ll get pie and cornbread. i miss my pie, but i miss you more!!!!! ilym,mom

Leave a Reply

